Citizens of the year sought

Wednesday, December 15, 2004

The Trumann Area Chamber of Commerce believes that any community, in order to grow and be a better place to work and live, needs individual citizens who put forth extra effort in serving the community. The Chamber wants to recognize this effort and award an outstanding citizen each year at the annual banquet.

Any current or past citizen from the Trumann area, living or dead whose service was performed in and for the Trumann area qualifies for this award and can be nominated by any Trumann citizen.

As a part of the nomination, a letter supporting why this particular candidate is nominated should be furnished to the chamber office.

Nominations must be received in the office by Thursday, Jan. 18.

Past recipients of Trumann Citizen of the Year:

2003- Lois May

2002- Robert Hendrix

2001- Barbara Lewallen

2000- Wally Shrader

1999- James Ruffin

1998- Cecil Daves

1997- Jim Moon, Jr.

1996- Frank Pineda

1995- Martis Stephen

1995- Martis Stephen

1994-Juanita Talbot

1993- Dorothy Martin

1992-Opal Lee Brown

1991- Jim Lackey

1990- Ray Knight

1989- Bill Cook

1988- Jack Coggins

1987- Georgia Moore

1986- Jules Martin


1984- Pat Farris

1983- Joe Crozier

1982- Leon Massey

1981- Doc Walker

1980- Harold Dorton

1979- LB Baker

1978- JD McGhee

1977- Dr. Foyd A. Smith

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: