Tyronza receives Rural Community Grant

Thursday, December 10, 2009
Pictured are, from left: ARDC Vice-Chair Wayne Nichols, ARDC Chair Mellie Watson, Donna Wood, Governor Mike Beebe, DRS Director Butch Calhoun, Mayor Marion Bearden, Tony Turner and Rodney Harris. Not pictured are Senator Steve Bryles and Representative Buddy Lovell.

Tyronza was one of 16 communities in Arkansas to receive a portion of over $170,000 handed out in Little Rock last month. Tyronza received a $5,000 Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant to purchase new turnout gear.

Representatives from the city were on hand to receive the funding from Governor Mike Beebe and Butch Calhoun, Department of Rural Services director, at an awards ceremony held November 10, 2009 in the Governor's Reception Room at the Arkansas State Capitol.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge's office.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: