School Election Results

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Harrisburg School Board member Byron Neal lost his re-election bid to Jeb Bass, who won by a margin of 104-59, Poinsett County Circuit Clerk Fonda Condra said.

Neal was elected in 2009 and served on the board for a year before being removed from an interim board created after Harrisburg and Weiner school districts consolidated. The state Supreme Court restored Neal to the board after ruling in May that the district violated state law by removing him.

A Harrisburg school tax, which would have determined a uniform rate of taxation for Harrisburg and Weiner districts, failed by a margin of 144 for, 458 against.

In the EPC school district, voters approved a four mill increase by a margin of 164-85, bringing the total millage rate to 35.2. The millage increase will be used to replace windows in both the Tyronza and Lepanto elementary buildings to make them more energy efficient and to make the school's salary schedule more competitive.

Stephen Chad Henderson was elected unchallenged to the EPC school board.

In Trumann, Adam Jones won the school board position with 312 votes. Don Cole had 46 votes, and Todd Qualls had 24 votes. Jones will replace Ronnie Everhart, who did not seek re-election. The Trumann school tax, which was to continue the rate of 35.8 mills, passed by a margin of 214-163.

In Marked Tree, Vickie Green was elected unchallenged to the school board.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: