Trumann athletes honored at banquet

Thursday, May 17, 2012
Pictured are award winners from the Trumann Wildcat Athletic Banquet held this past Tuesday night. (DT Photo/Anthony Cossey)

Trumann Schools honored their athletes this past Tuesday night at the Trumann Wildcat Athletic Banquet held at the high school. Athletes were recognized in 18 sports they competed in.

Varsity football presented five awards to open the evening. Taylor May and Tyler Renshaw were named best defensive and offensive lineman respectively. Josh Evans was named outstanding back. Quentin Buchanan was named most valuable player and Jimmy Creecy was chosen as team captain. Evans and Renshaw were also honored for all-conference. The junior high football awards went to Justin Liles for defensive player of the year and Willie Moore for offensive player of the year.

Varsity basketball gave out two awards. Nate Maxwell got the Teammate award as the Wildcat Pride award went to Dylan Dulaney. Malcolm Washington was given a plaque in honor of his All-State selection. Matt Holt and Washington were also named all-conference. Junior high basketball selected Zane Mckemie with the Teammate award and Taylor Wilson for the Wildcat Pride award.

Golfers Dulaney and Holt were honored for making the all-conference team.

Varsity girls basketball the most valuable award to Jazmye Nixon and the Lady Wildcat Award went to Hannah Walters. Nixon was also selected all-conference. Junior high girls basketball presented Taelor Gartman with offensive player of the year and Shutavain Jones with defensive player of the year awards.

The baseball team honored Zach Vinson, Cameron Jones and Maxwell for making all-conference. Maxwell was also selected all-state.

The girls softball team honored Kelly Guthrie with the Gold Glove award and Walters was given the offensive player award. Walters and Macy Hicks made all-conference.

Buchanan and Haley Kelly were recognized for making the all-state bowling teams.

Varsity track gave the Teammate award to Buchanan and the Wildcat Pride award went to Shane Black. Buchanan was named all-conference. The junior high boys track awards went to Dalton Carter for Teammate and Moore for Wildcat Pride. The junior high girls track presented the Teammate award to Jaycee Hogan and the Wildcat Pride to Taelor Gartman.

Varsity volleyball awarded Kali Conaway with the Teammate award, Scarlett Davis with the Hustle award and Cilla White with the Wildcat Pride award. Walter and Hailey Winningham were named all-conference. The junior high volleyball awards went to Haven Taylor for Teammate, Blair Jones for Hustle and Macey Davis for Wildcat Pride. Davis, Neely Blagg and Alli Victory were named all-conference.

In tennis, Morgan Haney was named to the girls all-conference team as Kaleb Capps, Michael Criss and Jacob Brumley were tabbed for the the boys all-conference team.

Varsity cheerleading handed out five awards. Julianna King was named captain, Felicia Harvey was tabbed rookie of the year, White was awarded the super senior, Cody McHalffey was voted most valuable player and Dustin Hanna got the outstanding leader award. The junior high squad gave four awards. Ainsley Bowers was named rookie of the year, Mikayla Hammers was most valuable player, Tiffany Whitlock was the outstanding leader and Reagan Heilman was named most spirited.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: