Election results given

Friday, November 9, 2012

County Sheriff Larry Mills won the race for Poinsett County Sheriff by nearly 4,000 votes. In unofficial numbers, Mills won with 5,748 votes while Gerald Crawford, Sr. received 1,791. John K. Hutchison won the race for State Representative for District 52 with 2,286. L.J. Bryant received 2,013 votes. Congressman Rick Crawford won his second consecutive term in Congress over Prosecuting Attorney Scott Ellington. In Poinsett County, Crawford received 4,172 votes; Ellington received 3,054.

There will be a two run-offs on Nov. 27 in to decide two city council races. Debbie Cook and Patsy Bullock will advance to the run-off for Trumann Alderman Ward 3, Position 1. Bullock received 137 votes, Cook 136 and Christopher L. Laire 19. Karen Maddox Witt and Bobby Austin will advance to the run-off for Harrisburg Alderman Ward 1, Position. Austin received 269 votes, Witt 230 and Michelle Chatman 200.

Other results are as follows:

*Trumann Alderman Ward 1, Position 1: Bonnie Winkles, 182, Charles E. Goza, Jr., 181.

*Trumann Alderman Ward 5, Position 1: James L. Baker, Sr., 259, Nickey Stockton, 218.

*Marked Tree Alderman Ward 1, Position 1: Jerry Lee Jones, 432, Jerry E. Crockett, 418.

*Marked Tree Alderman Ward 4, Position 1: McDaniel Danny Johnson III, 440, Zachary Hatley, 416.

*Lepanto Alderman Ward 1, Position 1: Earnie Hill, 399, Mike McCullar, 225.

*Harrisburg Alderman Ward 2, Position 1: Mark A. Waston, 546, Bernard Skeeter Blancato, 147.

*Harrisburg Alderman Ward 3, Position 2: Lori Pierce Howton, 405, Wayne King, 285.

*Constable Bolivar Township: Tom House, 743, Vance Evans, 629.

*Constable Scott Township: Charles W. Gray, 195, Thomas Carlock, 106.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: