Tyronza Fire Department receives rural community grant

Friday, May 16, 2014
Pictured, from left, are: Chief David Wood, Mayor Marion Bearden, ARDC Commissioner Roy Ferrell, Governor Mike Beebe, ARDC Chair Lynn Hawkins, Tony Turner, DRS Director John Andrews, Donna Wood, and ARDC Commissioner Jamie Pafford-Gresham. Not pictured are Senator David Burnett and Representative John Hutchison. (Photo provided)

Governor Mike Beebe and Department of Rural Services Director John Andrews presented $168,000 to 15 rural communities selected for Fiscal Year 2014 Cycle 3 funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program at an awards ceremony on Thursday, May 8, held at the State Capitol in the Governor's Conference Room.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant award on behalf of the Tyronza Fire Department. The TFD received $5,000 to purchase turnout gear.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge's office.

For more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs contact Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: