Filing ends for 2016 election

Thursday, November 12, 2015

The filing period for candidates running in the 2016 election ended Monday. In Poinsett County, two candidates are running for Sheriff with current Sheriff Larry Mills retiring, two are running for County Assessor, and three are running for State Representative of District 54, which covers Trumann and Lepanto.

Running for the office Sheriff and Collector are Kevin Molder (R) and Lisa Gean (D). Joshua Bradley (D) and John K. Hutchison (R) are running for County Assessor. Current County Assessor Johnny Rye (R), along with Wes Wagner (R) and Hunter Williams (D), are running for State Representative of District 54. That position is currently held by Rep. Dave Wallace (R) who is running against incumbent David Burnett (D) for Senate District 22.

Other election filings for Poinsett County are as follows:

*State Representative District 52--incumbent Dwight Tosh (R).

*U.S. Congress District 1--incumbent Rick Crawford (R), Mark West (L).

*County Judge--incumbent Bobby Cantrell (D).

*County and Probate Clerk--incumbent Teresa Rouse (R).

*Circuit Clerk--incumbent Misty Richardson (R).

*Treasurer--incumbent Tammie Stanford (R).

*Coroner--incumbent Butch Davis (R).

*Justice of the Peace District 1--incumbent Randy Jones (D).

*Justice of the Peace District 2--incumbent Elizabeth Scharz.

*Justice of the Peace District 3--incumbent Carmack Sanders.

*Justice of the Peace District 4--incumbent J.C. Carter (D).

*Justice of the Peace District 5--incumbent Gary Anderson (D).

*Justice of the Peace District 6--incumbent Gene Terry (D) and Terry Long (R).

*Justice of the Peace District 7--incumbent Floyd Hancock (D) and Donnie Taylor (I).

*Justice of the Peace District 8--incumbent Jeff Jones (D) and Louis Jones Sr. (I).

*Justice of the Peace District 9--incumbent Jerry Carter (D).

*Justice of the Peace District 10--incumbent Larry Steakley.

*Justice of the Peace District 11--incumbent Harold Blackwood.

*Constable, Bolivar Township--incumbent Jimmy Clayton (D), Vance Evans (R), and Ken Humbert (I).

*Constable, Greefield Township--incumbent Dennis Lore (I).

*Constable, Little River Township--Jackie Ragan (I).

*Constable, Scott Township--Thomas Carlock (I).

*Constable, Willis Township--Wayne Hogan (R).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: