EPC advances to quarter-finals with win over CRA

Friday, December 23, 2016

EPC (9-3) had 11 different players get in the scoring column as the Warriors beat CRA 71-52 this past Tuesday to advance to the quarter-final round of the boys' Division I bracket in the NEA Invitational Tournament being played at the Convocation Center in Jonesboro.

EPC's Peyton Phillips goes up for two points as the CRA player tries to defend during boys' action at the NEA Invitational Tournament. (DT Photo/Anthony Cossey)

Dee Buchanan got EPC on the board first with a jumper in the lane as CRA responded with a jumper to make the score 2-2. Jay Gilmore and Buchanan scored back to back baskets, CRA sored down low before Buchanan drilled a three-pointer for the Warriors and Xzavier Reed got a steal and lay-up for EPC to make the score 11-4 with 3:27 left. The Falcons hit a jumper in the lane, Chanc Gray netted a three-pointer for the Warriors and CRA got a steal and lay-up to make the score 14-8 EPC. Buchanan got a jumper in the lane to fall for EPC, CRA hit a jumper, J'Sebian Brown hit two free throws for the Warriors as the Falcons converted an old-school three-point play to make the score 18-12. Des Barnes hit a jumper in the lane for the Warriors with four seconds left giving EPC a 20-12 lead after one.

EPC got a fast break lay-up from Reed and Brown hit one of two free throws early in the second quarter to make the score 23-12 Warriors as CRA canned a three-ball to make it 23-15 EPC. Brown hit a jumper for EPC, the Falcons connected on a jumper as Reed had back to back scores for EPC to make it 29-17 Warriors with 4:10 left. CRA made a three-pointer before EPC got back to back scores from Barnes and Travis Joplin making it 33-20 Warriors. The Flacons scored down as Jase Whitfield hit one of two free throws for EPC followed by a steal and lay-up form Buchanan and a jumper form Joplin to give EPC a 38-22 lead at the half.

Pick up a copy of the December 22 PCDT for full game story!

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: