Area players, coaches get post-season awards

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Seven area players and two area coaches picked up some post-season honors recently. They included Bay's Coach Braden Watson, Whitlee Layne, Mallory Hartley, Dustin Utley and Taylor Layne, Marked Tree's Markel Perry, EPC's Xzavier Reed and Harrisburg's Coach Ronnie Smith and Kylie DeVries.

Whitlee Layne and Hartley were named Top 5 of 1A players in the state by the Arkansas Basketball Coaches Association and Point Guard Academy. Watson was named 1A coach of the year. Taylor Layne was named Top 5 on the boys' team. Perry landed a spot on the Top 5 in the 2A classification.

DeVries was invited to play in the North Arkansas Classic Showcase and Smith was selected to coach the team DeVries played on. DeVries scored six points in the game on two three-point shots. The game was played at Izard County Consolidated High School.

Whitlee Layne (newcomer of year last year), Taylor Layne (two-time), Hartley, Perry, Utley and Reed (three-time) were named to the Best Under the Sun teams.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: