Arkansas requests Federal Disaster Declaration for 31 counties

Friday, June 9, 2017

Poinsett County is among the 31 counties listed in a request for a Federal Disaster declaration Governor Asa Hutchinson has submitted to President Trump due to severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that began in late April.

Preliminary damage assessments estimate more than $13 million in damages. The request is for Public Assistance services and Individual Assistance services from the federal government. These services could include: direct funding for affected counties and/or individuals, hazard mitigation funds, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Governor Hutchinson requested the declaration for Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: