Primary Election results are in

Friday, May 25, 2018

Results are in for the May 22 Primary Election. In local results, incumbent Bob Cantrell won the Republican race for county judge over Mark Weston with a vote of 930-699, according to unofficial results from County Clerk Teresa Rouse's office.

Other local Republican Primary races included Justice of the Peace 11, where incumbent Harold Blackwood beat out Michael Ferguson 105-90, and Constable of the Willis Township, where Jay Paul Woods beat Wayne Hogan 250-173.

In statewide results, Governor Asa Hutchinson won the Republican nomination for governor over challenger Jan Morgan with a vote of 141,604-61,317. Locally, the vote was 957-680. Jared Henderson won the Democratic nomination for governor over Leticia Sanders with a vote of 67,494-38,991. Local results were 111-52. In the Secretary of State race on the Republican Primary, Commissioner of State Lands John Thurston won over State Representative Trevor Drown 98,323-90,117. Locally, the vote was 1,000-539. For Arkansas Supreme Court Position 3 (Non-Partisan) Courtney Goodson received 114,053 votes, David Sterling received 102,581, and Kenneth Hixson received 88,040. Locally, those numbers were 811, 430, and 491.

In elections for school board, Spencer Harston won EPC Zone 1 unopposed with 19 votes, Keith Tyler won EPC Zone 3 unopposed with 26 votes, Daniel Nooner won EPC Zone 7 unopposed with 28 votes, and R. Scott Taylor won Trumann Position 1 unopposed with 525 votes.

In local voter statistics released by County Clerk Rouse's office, this election saw 1,835 ballots cast in the county out of a total of 12,125 registered voters, making voter turnout 15.13 percent. In the Republican Primary, 1,644 ballots were cast, while 172 were cast in the Democratic Primary, and 19 were cast Non-Partisan.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: